Page 1 (2018/19)

Minutes of the <u>ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF BLAKENEY PARISH</u> <u>COUNCIL</u> which was held on <u>Tuesday 1st May 2018 at 7pm</u> in the Parish Office at 7pm.

<u>Present</u>:- Rosemary Thew (Chairman), Jenny Girling (Vice-Chairman), Samantha Arlow, Alban Donohoe, Shirley Everett, Barry Girling, Edward Hackford, Neil Thompson, Jess Tutt & Iain Wolfe.

Clerk:- Tracey Bayfield

Public:- 5

1. It was proposed & agreed that;

- (a) Chairman for 2018/19 is Rosemary Thew.
- (b) Vice Chairman for 2018/19 is Jenny Girling.
- 2. <u>DECLARATIONS OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE</u> were completed by the Chairman and Vice-Chairman.
- 3. <u>APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE</u> None for the AGM.
- 4. There were no **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**.
- Members were reminded that their register of <u>DECLARATIONS OF</u> <u>INTEREST</u> should be reviewed and confirmed as being up to date and that they are each responsible for their own. (NNDC website – Declarations of Interest, Blakeney to view.)
- 6. <u>OPEN PUBLIC SESSION</u> No public wished to speak at this point.
- Members were in receipt of a hard copy of each of the following <u>PROCEDURAL DOCUMENTS</u> and noted the few amendments which were highlighted as each item was considered. It was duly *proposed & agreed* that each document is adopted.
 - i) New Model Standing Orders (changes due to Data Protection Regulations and appointment of Data Protection Officer).
 - ii) Financial Regulations.
 - iii) Financial Risk Assessment.
 - iv) Effectiveness of Internal Financial Controls/Internal Auditor & continued appointment of David Wright as our Internal Auditor.

Page 2 (2018/19)

- v) Asset Register updated for 2018/19 & printed. Clerk asked to check current replacement cost of Parkeon machines & to remove The Pastures Land from BPC list as such.
- vi) Terms of Reference for all Committees; noting that the following have all been reviewed in the past few months in detail; Data Protection, Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group, Dinghy Park Management Committee.
- 8. <u>ELECTION OF</u>: serving Parish Councillors to represent BPC on the following outside organisations. All were *proposed & agreed* as follows;
 - i) **Village Hall Trustee Representative** Jenny Girling to continue.
 - ii) North Norfolk Coast Advisory Group Rosemary Thew, with Iain Wolfe a reserve. The agenda will be scrutinised, to deem whether attendance is necessary.
 - iii) North Norfolk Town & Parish Forum Rosemary Thew will continue.
 - iv) **The Blakeney Channel Coastal Community Team** Alban Donohoe, Neil Thompson & Iain Wolfe will continue.
- 9. <u>REVIEW OF COMMITTEE STRUCTURE</u>: including Sub Committees, Advisory Groups & Working Parties where need be. Again each committee was taken in turn and members were *proposed & agreed* as follows.

The following statements are extracted from the Standing Orders and apply automatically.

The Chairman and Vice-Chairman, ex-officio, shall be voting members of every committee, but not Charitable Trusts.

Every committee shall at its first meeting before proceeding to any other business, elect a Chairman and may elect a Vice-Chairman who shall hold office until the next Annual Meeting of the council, and shall settle its programme of meetings for the year. (The Chairman & Vice-Chairman of the Parish Council, do not automatically become Chairman and Vice-Chairman of any Committee. Except where ordered by the Council, the quorum of a Committee or Sub-Committee shall be one half of its members, unless Terms of Reference state otherwise.)

- *i)* **PLANNING COMMITTEE not required** as all Council members wish to continue to be involved with Planning and thus the **FULL COUNCIL will deal with all planning matters.**
- *ii)* **FINANCE COMMITTEE** (with delegated powers.) *Jenny Girling, Rosemary Thew, Edward Hackford, Iain Wolfe, Neil Thompson & Shirley*

Page 3 (2018/19)

Everett.) Terms of Reference state 6 Members idea. Therefore the Quorum is 3 Members.

- *iii)* **PERSONNEL/DATA PROTECTION COMMITTEE** (with delegated powers.) Jenny Girling, Rosemary Thew, Neil Thompson, Edward Hackford & Samantha Arlow. Terms of Reference state 5 Members. **Therefore the Quorum is 3 Members**.
- *iv)* **BLAKENEY NEIGHBOURHOOD PLAN STEERING COMMITTEE** Rosemary Thew, Jenny Girling, Alban Donohoe & Iain Wolfe. Terms of Reference state up to 12 members in total; including the Parish Councils reps.
- DINGHY PARK MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE (with delegated powers.) Alban Donohoe, Neil Thompson & Iain Wolfe. 3 x Parish Councillors, Blakeney Sailing Club x 3, 1 x member of the Public, 1 x Blakeney Harbour Association and 1 member of The National Trust, should they wish.
- vi) BONFIRE & FIREWORKS COMMITTEE (with delegated powers.) Barry Girling, Jenny Girling, Alban Donohoe, Samantha Arlow, Neil Thompson & Jess Tutt. Terms of Reference state minimum of 5 or 6 members. Therefore the Quorum is 3 Members.
- vii) BPC AFFORDABLE HOUSING COMMITTEE (& BNHS) (with delegated powers.) Jenny Girling, Alban Donohoe, Rosemary Thew, Neil Thompson, Samantha Arlow & Shirley Everett. Minimum of 5 or 6 members ideally, the Quorum will be a half of the Members. Therefore the Quorum is 3 Members.
- viii) **RECREATIONAL COMMITTEE** (with delegated powers.) Alban Donohoe, Jenny Girling, Rosemary Thew, Samantha Arlow & Edward Hackford. *Terms of Reference state minimum of 5 or 6 members.* **Therefore the Quorum is 3 Members.**

TRUSTEES -

PARISH COUNCIL TRUSTS – *To reconfirm* that "other than where detailed specifically on any deeds/constitution, Parish Council Trustees should be present serving Parish Councillors and not ex Parish Councillors. Ie. once a Parish Councillor leaves the Council, he/she leaves all other positions in relation to the Parish Council Charities/Trusts/Committees."

Each Trust was taken in turn, and the following appointments were *proposed & agreed;*

i) **WAR MEMORIAL COTTAGES TRUST** – Jenny Girling, Alban Donohoe, Neil Thompson & Edward Hackford. (4 maximum for Land Registry

Page 4 (2018/19)

purposes. This trust meets on an as and when need be basis.) Other working aspects of this Trust are being looked with a Solicitor going forward and are ongoing.

- ii) **THE PASTURES & OTHER BLAKENEY LAND CHARITABLE TRUST** Serving Trustees for 2018/19 are each member of The Parish Council, who are automatically Trustees, but this Trust must meet and operate totally independent of the Parish Council, as per legal advice obtained 2017.
- iii) POOR'S LAND Jenny Girling, Barry Girling, Rosemary Thew & Samantha Arlow. (Made up of 4 Cllrs plus the Vicar as per the Constitution, this trust only meets once a year.)
- iv) **PARISH RENT** Jenny Girling, Barry Girling, Rosemary Thew & Samantha Arlow. (Maximum number of 4 Cllrs. This trust only meets once a year.)
- v) RED HOUSE LAND Neil Thompson (current Parish Cllr), Godfrey Sayers (past Blakeney Parish Councillor) & Mervyn Williamson (current owner of The Red House.) As per the Trust Deed document dated 1st December 1934, The property shall hereafter be held by three Trustees, two of them shall be appointed by the Parish Council of Blakeney and the third shall be appointed by the owner of The Red House, who is empowered to appoint himself as a Trustee.

Meeting closed at 7.35pm.

Chairman _____